Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Pulse of Coal - October 2

Coal industry - actual figures and facts. Partner project of the Modern Analytical Agency (CAA) and the EastRussia portal

Mining, logistics, prices, export - all that the coal industry in Russia and in the world lives on is concise and to the point - in a new partner project of the Modern Analytical Agency (CAA) and the EastRussia portal

Pulse of Coal - October 2
Photo: pixabay.com
Special project Coal of the East of Russia



A brief overview of the global coal market

High gas prices in the EU and fears of a supply crisis have pushed quotes to new 13-year highs above $ 215 / t. Gas prices exceeded USD 1000 / 1 m3, the cost of October gas futures on the European TTF trading platform exceeded 82.40 EUR / MW ∙ h (+12.50 EUR / MW ∙ h by 22.09.2021). Gas reserves in Europe are 15% below the average for the last five years.


High trading activity of consumers from India and Pakistan had a positive impact on the indices of South African material, which reached the level of $ 200 / t. According to experts, the indices of South African material will grow until the end of 2021, due to problems with the railway line connecting the coal-mining provinces of South Africa and the port of Richards Bay.

The supply price for coal of 5500 kcal / kg NAR of domestic production in the port of Qinhuangdao was in the range of $ 245-255 / t. Coal shortages put China on the brink of an energy crisis, leading to massive power outages in some provinces and a forced reduction in energy consumption in the country. The shortage of coal has forced China's two largest power grids, the State Grid and the China Southern Power Grid, to prioritize supplying households at the expense of industrial enterprises.

On September 29.09.2021, XNUMX, the China Development and Reform Commission (NDRC) announced that coal supplies would be guaranteed by further increases in domestic production, imports and stock utilization in the coming months.

The Chinese electricity regulator has recommended that coal-fired power plants build up inventories during October to eliminate the possibility of winter power outages.

Limited global coal supply and strong demand from Asian generators for thermal coal have supported Australian coal prices above $ 200 / t.

Strong demand from China, which is trying to prevent the energy crisis and replenish stocks before the start of the heating season, led to an increase in the quotations of the Indonesian material 5900 kcal / kg GAR, which amounted to about $ 150 / t.

The decline in industrial activity in the PRC and the reduction in steel production by Chinese metallurgical enterprises purchasing Australian material from Asian traders put pressure on quotations of Australian coking material, which fell below $ 390 / t.

 

Russian coal exports to China increased by 43% in January-August 2021 amid the energy crisis in China

In January-August 2021, according to preliminary data, the total export of Russian coal to China increased to 37.0 million tons (+11.1 million tons or + 43% compared to January-August 2020), including sea shipments and shipments via railways. / d border crossings.

 

At the same time, the export of material through border crossings from China for 8 months of 2021 decreased to 4.94 million tons (-0.54 million tons, or -10% to the same period in 2020). Coal transportation through the Kamyshovaya-Hunchun checkpoint increased to 1.97 million tons (+0.38 million tons or + 24% versus January-August 2021), through Zabaikalsk-Manchuria decreased to 1.87 million tons (-0.69 million tons or -27%) and through Grodekovo-Suifenhe amounted to 1.1 million tons (-0.23 million tons or -17%).


Russian suppliers periodically filed complaints about problems with the passage of cargo through border crossings with China. Russian Railways periodically introduced railway conventions for rail transportation of coal due to the congestion of routes in the direction of the Russian-Chinese border crossings against the background of quarantine measures by the Chinese customs, leading to a slowdown in cargo handling and a reduction in the supply of Russian material.

China's total coal imports in January-August 2021 decreased to 198 million tons (-22.4 million tons, or -10% compared to January-August 2020). Despite the decline in Chinese imports, Russian coal suppliers managed to increase their share in the total volume of material supplies to the country in January-August 2021 to 19% from 12% in the same period last year.

The main reason for the decline in China's coal imports is the ban on supplies from Australia due to political tensions between the countries. In 2021, China faced material shortages, including due to a decrease in production by Chinese coal companies caused by restrictive quarantine measures and safety checks at mines amid increased demand, which, starting in September 2021, led to an energy crisis in the country. The north-eastern provinces of the PRC are experiencing a coal shortage, which are forced to turn off traffic lights, escalators and 3G towers to save energy. In many provinces, the authorities are offering businesses to reduce their electricity consumption, which has already caused significant damage to the industry, and the restrictions also apply to local residents. Goldman Sachs estimates that 44% of Chinese businesses have been affected by electricity shortages. Coal quotes on the PRC domestic market more than doubled, exceeding $ 200 / t, compared to the price of $ 90 / t. in September 2020

In the 4th quarter of 2021, China will seek to increase its coal imports, including supplies from Russia. Nevertheless, despite the steady growth in the export of Russian material and an increase in demand in China and other countries of the Asia-Pacific region, the export potential of Russia is limited by the throughput of the Eastern landfill.

 

In January-August 2021, Ukraine's coal imports grew by 12%

In January-August 2021, the volume of Ukrainian coal imports increased to 13.1 million tons (+1.4 million tons, or + 12% compared to the same period last year).


9.5 million tons or 72% of all imports of material fell on Russian exporters, 2.3 million tons or 18% were shipments of coal from Kazakhstan and 1.3 million tons or 10% were supplied by the United States.



On June 15, 2021, the Ministry of Energy of Ukraine urged local coal-fired power plants to increase coal imports in order to increase material reserves to 3.0 million tons of coal ahead of the start of the heating season. At present, coal reserves in Ukraine remain at a critically low level of 1.0 million tons (+0.10 million tons by 01.09.2021), which is 2 million tons less than the indicators planned by the Ministry of Energy. As a result of the heat wave in Ukraine this summer, local generators have increased their coal combustion, which has led to a reduction in material inventories in the country.

On December 16, 2020, Ukraine extended a 65% duty on coal imports from Russia until the end of 2021. Import anthracite and coking coal are not subject to duty, as there is a shortage of these types of material in Ukraine.

In 2020, Ukraine imported 17 million tons (-20% by 2019).

 

Ministry of Transport revises ship-or-pay conditions for coal companies

The conditions for the introduction of ship-or-pay contracts for transportation by rail were discussed on September 27, 2021 in the Ministry of Transport. The participants agreed on a new version of the amendments, which should meet the interests of all parties. The meeting was attended by representatives of the Ministry of Energy, Russian Railways, coal and metallurgical companies.


The new version of the bill has a number of fundamental differences from the previous version. In particular, it excludes the provision of priority access to the railway infrastructure to suppliers that have concluded ship-or-pay agreements with Russian Railways.

On April 15, 2021, First Deputy Prime Minister of Russia Andrei Belousov proposed to limit the use of the ship-or-pay mechanism and use it only for additional volumes of coal exported from Kuzbass.

In 2022–2025 ship-or-pay contracts can only be concluded by companies exporting coal from Kuzbass to the east. In 2022, under such contracts, it will be possible to ship 3 million tons of coal out of 58 million tons stipulated by the agreement between Russian Railways and the government of the Kemerovo region, in 2023 - 5 million tons out of 63 million tons, in 2024 - 10 million tons out of 68 million tons. Subsequently, contracts can be concluded for the volume of traffic equal to the increase in the throughput and carrying capacity of the infrastructure on specific routes compared to the indicators at the beginning of 2025. From 2025, routes and types of cargo are not limited.

The idea of ​​introducing the ship-or-pay principle on the railway network has been discussed for several years. On March 3, 2021, Vladimir Putin called for an increase in the export of Kuzbass coal to the east to 68 million tons per year by 2024 compared to exports in 2020 at the level of 53 million tons.

At the same time, the Consumer Council of Russian Railways criticized the ship-or-pay conditions proposed this spring. Among the complaints are the unclear criteria for selecting companies for concluding contracts, the lack of symmetric responsibility of Russian Railways and shippers, tariff parameters, terms and conditions of contracts, and other issues. The Ministry of Energy noted that the proposed form of the contract shifts the risks of Russian Railways to other participants in cargo transportation. The FAS was against it, believing that the current regulations make it possible to achieve the goals of increasing exports from Kuzbass by 30% without introducing ship-or-pay agreements.

December 2: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Пульс угля - 2 октября

Угольная промышленность - актуальные цифры и факты. Партнерский проект Современного аналитического агентства (CAA) и портала EastRussia

Добыча, логистика, цены, экспорт - все чем живет угольная промышленность в России и в мире сжато и по делу - в новом партнерском проекте Современного аналитического агентства (CAA) и портала EastRussia

Пульс угля - 2 октября
Фото: pixabay.com



Краткий обзор мирового угольного рынка

Высокая стоимость газа в ЕС и опасения кризиса энергоснабжения укрепили котировки до новых 13-летних максимумов выше 215 долл./т. Цены на газ превысили 1000 долл./1 тыс. м3, стоимость октябрьских газовых фьючерсов на европейской торговой платформе TTF составила более 82.40 евро/МВТ∙ч (+12.50 евро/МВТ∙ч к 22.09.2021 г.). Уровень запасов газа в Европе на 15% ниже среднего показателя за последние пять лет.


Высокая торговая активность потребителей из Индии и Пакистана положительно отразилась на индексах южноафриканского материала, достигших уровня в 200 долл./т. По мнению экспертов, индексы южноафриканского материала будут расти до конца 2021 г., что обусловлено проблемами с ж/д линией, соединяющей угледобывающие провинции ЮАР и порт Richards Bay.

Цена предложения на уголь 5500 ккал/кг NAR внутреннего производства в порту Qinhuangdao, находилась в диапазоне 245-255 долл./т. Из-за дефицита угля Китай оказался на грани энергетического кризиса, что привело к массовым отключениям электроэнергии в некоторых провинциях и принудительному снижению энергопотребления в стране. Нехватка угля заставила две крупнейшие энергосистемы Китая, State Grid и China Southern Power Grid, сделать приоритетным снабжение бытовых потребителей в ущерб промышленным предприятиям.

29.09.2021 г. комиссия по развитию и реформам Китая (NDRC) заявила, что поставки угля будут гарантированы за счет дальнейшего увеличения внутреннего производства, импорта и использования запасов в ближайшие месяцы.

Китайский регулятор электроэнергетики, рекомендовал угольным электростанциям наращивать запасы в течение октября, чтобы исключить возможность отключений электроэнергии в зимний период.

Ограниченное предложение угля на мировом рынке и высокий спрос со стороны азиатских генерирующих предприятий на энергетический уголь оказали поддержку ценам австралийского угля выше 200 долл./т.

Высокий спрос со стороны Китая, стремящегося предотвратить энергетический кризис и пополнить запасы перед началом отопительного сезона, привел к росту котировок индонезийского материала 5900 ккал/кг GAR, составивших около 150 долл./т.

Снижение промышленной активности в КНР и сокращение производства стали китайскими металлургическими предприятиями, закупающими австралийский материал у азиатских трейдеров, оказали давление на котировки австралийского коксующегося материала, упавшие ниже 390 долл./т.

 

Экспорт российского угля в Китай увеличился на 43% в январе-августе 2021 г. на фоне энергетического кризиса в КНР

В январе-августе 2021 г., по предварительным данным, общий экспорт российского угля в Китай вырос до 37.0 млн т. (+11.1 млн т. или +43% к январю-августу 2020 г.), включая морские отгрузки и поставки через ж/д погранпереходы.

 

При этом экспорт материала через погранпереходы с КНР за 8 месяцев 2021 г. сократился до 4.94 млн т. (-0.54 млн т. или -10% к аналогичному периоду 2020 г.). Перевозки угля через пункт пропуска Камышовая-Хуньчунь выросли до 1.97 млн т. (+0.38 млн т. или +24% к январю-августу 2021 г.), через Забайкальск–Маньчжурия снизились до 1.87 млн т. (-0.69 млн т. или -27%) и через Гродеково-Суйфэньхэ составили 1.1 млн т. (-0.23 млн т. или -17%).


Российские поставщики периодически обращались с жалобами на проблемы с прохождением груза через погранпереходы с Китаем. ОАО РЖД периодически вводило ж/д конвенции на железнодорожные перевозки угля из-за загруженности маршрутов в направлении российско-китайских пограничных переходов на фоне карантинных мер со стороны китайской таможней, приводящих к замедлению обработки грузов и сокращению поставок российского материала.

Общий импорт угля КНР за январь-август 2021 г. уменьшился до 198 млн т. (-22.4 млн т. или -10% к январю-августу 2020 г.). Несмотря на снижение импорта Китаем, российским поставщикам угля удалось нарастить долю в общем объеме поставок материала в страну в январе-августе 2021 г. до 19% с 12% за аналогичный период прошлого года.

Основной причиной снижения импорта угля Китаем является запрет на поставки из Австралии из-за политической напряженности между странами. В 2021 г. Китай столкнулся с нехваткой материала, в том числе из-за снижения добычи китайскими угольными компаниями, вызванной ограничительными карантинными мерами и проверками безопасности на шахтах на фоне увеличившегося спроса, что начиная с сентября 2021 г. привело к энергетическому кризису в стране. Дефицит угля испытывают северо-восточные провинции КНР, вынужденные для экономии электроэнергии отключают светофоры, эскалаторы и вышки 3G. Во многих провинциях власти предлагают предприятиям сократить потребление электроэнергии, что уже нанесло существенный ущерб промышленности, ограничения также распространяются и на местных жителей. По оценкам Goldman Sachs, от нехватки электричества пострадали 44% китайских предприятий. Угольные котировки на внутреннем рынке КНР выросли более чем в два раза, превысив 200 долл./т., в сравнении с ценой на уровне 90 долл./т. в сентябре 2020 г.

В 4 квартале 2021 г. Китай будет стремиться нарастить импорт угля, включая поставки из России. Тем не менее, несмотря на устойчивый рост экспорта российского материала и увеличения спроса в Китае и других странах АТР, экспортный потенциал России ограничен пропускной способностью Восточного полигона.

 

В январе-августе 2021 г. импорт угля Украиной вырос на 12%

В январе-августе 2021 г. объем украинского угольного импорта увеличился до 13.1 млн т. (+1.4 млн т. или +12% по сравнению с аналогичным периодом прошлого года).


9.5 млн т. или 72% всех импортных поставок материала пришлось на российских экспортеров, 2.3 млн т. или 18% составили отправки угля из Казахстана и 1.3 млн т. или 10% поставили США.



15 июня 2021 г. Министерство энергетики Украины призвало местные угольные электростанции увеличить объемы импорта угля, чтобы нарастить запасы материала до 3.0 млн т. угля в преддверии начала отопительного сезона. В настоящее время запасы угля на Украине остаются на критически низком уровне в 1.0 млн т. (+0.10 млн т. к 01.09.2021 г.), что на 2 млн т ниже показателей, запланированных Минэнерго. В результате аномальной жары на Украине этим летом местные генерирующие компании увеличили объемы сжигания угля, что привело к сокращению складских резервов материала в стране.

16 декабря 2020 г. Украина продлила 65%-ю пошлину на импорт угля из России до конца 2021 г. Импортный антрацит и коксующийся уголь не облагаются пошлиной, так как на Украине наблюдается дефицит данных видов материала.

В 2020 г. Украина импортировала 17 млн т. (-20% к 2019 г.).

 

Минтранс пересматривает условия ship-or-pay для угольных компаний

Условия введения контрактов ship-or-pay (вези или плати) на перевозку по железной дороге обсуждалась 27 сентября 2021 г. в Минтрансе. Участники согласовали новую редакцию поправок, которая должна отвечать интересам всех сторон. Во встрече приняли участие представители Минэнерго, РЖД, угольных и металлургических компаний.


Новая редакция законопроекта имеет ряд принципиальных отличий от предыдущей версии. В частности, она исключает предоставление приоритетного доступа к железнодорожной инфраструктуре поставщикам, заключившим с РЖД договоры ship-or-pay.

15 апреля 2021 г. первый вице-премьер России Андрей Белоусов предложил ограничить применение механизма ship-or-pay и использовать его только для дополнительных объемов угля, экспортируемого из Кузбасса.

В 2022–2025 гг. контракты ship-or-pay могут заключать только компании, экспортирующие уголь из Кузбасса в восточном направлении. В 2022 г. по таким контрактам можно будет отгрузить 3 млн т. угля из 58 млн т., предусмотренных соглашением РЖД с правительством Кемеровской области, в 2023 г. - 5 млн т. из 63 млн т., в 2024 г. - 10 млн т. из 68 млн т. Впоследствии договоры могут заключаться на объем перевозок, равный увеличению пропускных и провозных способностей инфраструктуры на конкретных маршрутах по сравнению с показателями на начало 2025 г. С 2025 г. маршруты и виды грузов не ограничиваются.

Идея внедрения принципа ship-or-pay на сети железных дорог обсуждается уже несколько лет. 3 марта 2021 г. Владимир Путин призвал увеличить экспорт кузбасского угля на восток до 68 млн т. в год к 2024 г. в сравнении с экспортными поставками в 2020 г. на уровне 53 млн т.

В это же время Совет потребителей РЖД подверг критике предложенные весной этого года условия ship-or-pay. Среди претензий - неясность критериев отбора компаний для заключения контрактов, отсутствие симметричной ответственности РЖД и грузоотправителей, тарифные параметры, условия и сроки договоров, а также другие вопросы. В Минэнерго отмечали, что предложенная форма контракта перекладывает риски РЖД на других участников грузоперевозок. ФАС была против, считая, что действующие регламенты позволяют достичь целей по увеличению экспорта из ыКузбасса на 30% без внедрения договоров ship-or-pay.

30 ноября: актуальная информация по коронавирусу на Дальнем Востоке
Дайджест региональных событий и свежая статистика