Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

What can I say about Sakhalin - 2

The Khabarovsk correspondent of EastRussia shares life hacks and everyday nuances of a family car trip across Sakhalin.

How to get on the ferry when there are no empty cabins on it, why should the ferry dispatcher in Vanino be warned that you are traveling 300 kilometers before your destination, how not to stay hungry on the ferry, is it worth counting on fresh fish on the island, what take out of clothes and where to live - EastRussia tells everything you wanted to know about an independent trip to Sakhalin, including what you could not even think of.

What can I say about Sakhalin - 2
Photo: Press Service of the Government of Sakhalin Region

About the ferry

If you know exactly how long you will need to travel to Sakhalin, then it is better to book a ferry there and back right away. This is done quite simply, through the form on the website of the carrier company "Daltransservice". The only thing is, before sending the application, check all the data: for some reason I had an empty column "Vehicle registration number" and when registering in the port of Vanino, difficulties arose - the security service did not want to let a car into the port territory, the number of which was not indicated in the application.


Photo: JSC "TEK "Daltransservice"

When registering for the ferry, I was surprised to hear that for the next almost three weeks all the seats from Kholmsk are occupied. On the spot, I did not begin to find out, but immediately upon arrival in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, we went to the office of the carrier company. The young man, having learned that we had come on vacation to see the island, helped us solve the problem.

It turns out that the reservation is calculated by the cabins, and they are usually occupied. That is, for a car, in principle, there is always room, but for passengers - only on the deck. Having learned this, we firmly declared: “We do not need your cabin on the lower deck! She's awful! It's stuffy there! Let's make a reservation for the date we need, even if we don't have seats in the cabin, we'd rather be accommodated on the deck in sleeping bags! " In addition, when we walked from Vanino to Kholmsk, we saw how a young couple simply pitched a tent in the wardroom on the lower deck.

Looking ahead, I will say that on the way back, when we checked in in Kholmsk, we were again surprised to learn that they were ready to accommodate us in a cabin on the upper deck and the difference in the ticket was some 200 rubles per person. Miracles, and more!

There is only one conclusion: the main thing is to book a seat on the ferry, and then the issue of comfortable accommodation can be resolved on the spot.

The food on the ferry is disgusting. Despite the high cost of transportation (a cabin for three and transportation of a passenger car in one direction - 30 thousand rubles), you will receive 1 pack of "Doshirak", 1 package of instant coffee 3 in 1 and one "Choco Pai" - not a box (Choco Pai - a confectionery product consisting of two layers of biscuit, an interlayer of marshmallow and a filling covered with confectionery glaze - Ed.). Everything. And this despite the fact that you can walk for almost a day. There is a buffet (or, more correctly, a galley?) On the ferry, but it is not cheap for a dining room and, most importantly, only cash is accepted there: it will not work to pay by transfer or by card due to the lack of mobile communication. We did not know this, but we held out on our own reserves. By the way, if you want to bring alcohol on board, you will have to try: they check. True, in Vanino this is done by two transport police officers (they did not find the draft, which I had hidden in a large sleeping bag), but in Kholmsk this will not work - there things brought on board the ferry are "scanned" with a stationary scanner.

If you got a cabin on the lower deck, then you will not see the outlets, so take the book. The cabin on the upper deck has all the conveniences: a porthole, and sockets, and a table with a sofa, and it is not stuffy.

If you are afraid that you will get seasick, then you should not worry too much - Sakhalin is a very large ferry and does not react strongly to the wave. Although, if it gets stormy in the Tatar Strait, everyone will feel it.


Photo: Sakhalin Shipping Company

It will take an average of 18 hours to go, the connection will take an hour from and to the coast.

There is one more feature when loading a ferry: when you have already registered, you will be launched into the port territory, from where you cannot get out or leave. You will have to wait from two to five to six hours while sitting in the car. At the same time, in Vanino there is a rest room and a disgusting dining room (again, only for cash), and in Kholmsk at least we saw nothing of the kind (though it was a deep night). At the same time, in Kholmsk, you will be charged almost two thousand rubles for entering the port territory (you can pay by card).


About Vanino

It is recommended to arrive at the ferry eight hours in advance, but this does not mean at all that you will load at the appointed time: earlier it is unlikely, but later it is please.

If you are going to Sakhalin by car, then from Lidoga (this is the village near which you turn off the Komsomol highway to Vanino and there is 350 km of the route ahead of you without communication) you need to call the dispatcher and warn that you are driving.

We drove a couple of days before the scheduled departure of the ferry to drive a little along the shores of the Tatar Strait from Sovetskaya Gavan to Datta - there is something to see. The apartment was deliberately rented (1800 rubles per day) in Sovetskaya Gavan (this is 30 km from Vanino), because it still looks more like a city with a more developed infrastructure. A few hours before the arrival of the ferry we moved to Vanino, but in the end, due to the delay of the ferry, we had to rent an apartment for a day in the village.

 

About food

Especially before the trip to the island, we were not stocked with provisions: standard dry rations from "Doshirak", "Tourist's Breakfast", condensed milk, quickly brewed cereals and alcohol. In the cities where they spent the night, they bought extra in supermarkets, and in the markets along the roads, they bought berries and vegetables.

The price tag on Sakhalin in comparison with Khabarovsk, about + 30%, and in comparison with Moscow, probably all 50.


Seaside Market
Photo: Ilya Buyanovsky aka varandej

What surprised me: they don't sell freshly caught fish on Sakhalin, and they don't sell any at all. An exception is the market in Seaside, where you can buy fresh crabs, and beer shops, where they sell dried, smoked and dried fish at exorbitant prices.

To the question - "Why is that?" the locals calmly answer: “Who will buy? It's easier to go and catch. " By the way, I never got my fishing rods, lazily.

 

About firewood

This summer we began to actively use the so-called "Finnish candles": these are hemp with saw cuts inside, dried and wrapped in film - they burn for several hours, during which time you can safely cook dinner and boil a kettle. And they just burn beautifully.

Photo: Alexey Elash
  
We took 3 pieces with them, throwing them on the upper trunk. They are very helpful when the rain and firewood are wet or when there is no firewood at all.

Of course, they took a gas stove with them - an irreplaceable thing. On the Trans-Sakhalin highway there are equipped stopping areas where you can boil water in a gazebo on a stove even in inclement weather - we did this when we made a night crossing a couple of times: hot coffee in the morning helps a lot! On our highways - "Ussuri", "Vostok" or the Komsomol (not to mention the Nikolaev) there are practically no such sites.

 

About housing

The housing issue was solved in this way: in cities we rent an apartment for rent, on the coast / nature we live in a tent / car. The ratio turned out to be approximately 2 to 1 in favor of apartments. 


Photo: Alexey Elash
But this is good - you don't get so tired of everyday inconveniences (not everyone is ready to live in a tent for weeks, listening to the sounds of the forest, and swim in mountain rivers), and in the apartment you can wash, wash, and dry things. The main thing is, when renting an apartment, find out in advance the availability of hot water, a washing machine and wi-fi. And then we had something like this in Ulan-Ude, where we, having already settled in the apartment, were surprised to learn that there is no hot water in the whole city, and the apartment is not equipped with a boiler. The hostess retorted our indignation: "It is like this every summer with us."

Also keep in mind that apartments for rent on Sakhalin are snapped up like hot cakes, especially when it comes to the weekend. At a price something like this: in "Yuzhny" (Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk) - from 1800 to 2300 rubles per day, but the further north - the more expensive, the price reaches 3500 rubles.


Not advertising, but advice: at the entrance to Smirnykh from the south, on the right, there is a good hotel complex with a decent breakfast and an adequate price tag. But most of all, perhaps, we remember the apartment in Tomari. The grandmother who rented out the apartment, apparently, was so tired of fighting with careless tenants that she pasted small instructions everywhere: "Do not cut with a knife on the table (there is a board)!", "Hold when you turn off!" (this is about the outlet) and so on.

 

About the car

We did not experience any special difficulties: before the trip I checked all the main components and assemblies, took with me a standard set of tools and some fluids (brake, antifreeze, oil). Gasoline on Sakhalin is almost everywhere (the maximum price for AI-95 is in Ilyinsky: 63 rubles per liter), so I did not take a spare canister, as when traveling to Mongolia.

The roads are also acceptable everywhere, the wheels never tore.


Photo: Alexey Elash

The only difficulty we encountered was a torn drive boot after a trip along the mountain road to Cape Ptichiy. "Pomegranate" began to emit a characteristic sound and before the trip to the north of the island they decided to fix this malfunction. BUT! It was Sunday and it was raining, and therefore most of the service stations in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk simply did not work. After a couple of hours of searching, we found a working car service. True, there was a schedule all the time, but when they learned that we were traveling around the island, the guys skipped us out of line and did everything, for which they are very grateful.

 

About clothes

Everything related to the north of the Far East or the sea coast fits the following scheme: we take clothes for summer and autumn, that is, from shorts and T-shirts to hats, windbreakers and warm trousers. And you need to understand that you can get into a drizzle, which will "hang" in the air for several days. But the most important advice - take "crocs": rubber slippers with a heel. It is very convenient to walk in them on the seabed, and just around the camp.

We had sunblock and mosquito repellent in the trunk pocket, but we barely got them.

About "go - do not go"

Anyone who is tormented by thoughts - is the island worth a visit, we advise you to drop your doubts. The unique nature will impress both adults and children, the opportunity to feed a fox, look at a bear from a car, see whales in Piltun Bay is an experience of a lifetime. Well, those who have all the talk about the sea shouldn't even hesitate, the tall waves of the open ocean and the quiet ebb tide on the "banks" with oysters and scallops, the endless turquoise sea expanses conquered our hearts forever.


Laguna Busse
Photo: Press Service of the Government of Sakhalin Region

January 22: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Ну что тебе сказать про Сахалин - 2

Хабаровский корреспондент EastRussia делится лайфхаками и бытовыми нюансами семейного автомобильного путешествия по Сахалину.

Как попасть на паром, когда на нем нет свободных кают, почему диспетчера парома в Ванино надо предупредить о том, что вы едете, за 300 километров до точки назначения, как не остаться голодным на пароме, стоит ли рассчитывать на свежую рыбу на острове, что взять из одежды и где жить - EastRussia рассказывает все, что вы хотели знать о самостоятельном путешествии на Сахалин, в том числе и о том, о чем вы даже подумать не могли.

Ну что тебе сказать про Сахалин - 2
Фото: пресс-служба правительства Сахалинской области

Про паром

Если вы точно знаете, сколько времени вам понадобится для путешествия по Сахалину, то лучше забронировать паром туда и обратно сразу. Делается этот достаточно просто, через форму на сайте компании-перевозчика «Дальтранссервис». Единственное, перед отправкой заявки проверьте все данные: у меня почему-то оказалась незаполненной графа «Регистрационный номер ТС» и при оформлении уже в порту Ванино возникли сложности – служба безопасности не хотела пускать на территорию порта машину, номер которой не был указан в заявке.


Фото: АО «ТЭК «Дальтранссервис»

При оформлении уже на паром, с удивлением услышал, что на ближайшие почти три недели все места из Холмска заняты. На месте это выяснять не стал, но сразу по приезду в Южно-Сахалинск мы отправились в офис компании-перевозчика. Молодой человек, узнав, что мы приехали в отпуск посмотреть остров, помог нам решить проблему.

Оказывается, бронь считается по каютам, а они, как правило, заняты. То есть, для машины, в принципе, место есть всегда, а вот для пассажиров – только на палубе. Узнав это, мы решительно заявили: «Не нужна нам ваша каюта на нижней палубе! Она ужасна! Там душно! Давайте бронь на нужную нам дату, пускай, без мест в каюте, мы лучше на палубе в спальниках разместимся!» К тому же, когда мы шли из Ванино в Холмск, видели, как молодая пара попросту поставила палатку в кают-компании нижней палубы.

Забегая вперед, скажу, что на обратном пути при оформлении в Холмске мы опять же с удивлением узнали, что нас готовы разместить в каюте на верхней палубе и разница в билете составляет каких-то 200 рублей на человека. Чудеса, да и только!

Вывод один: главное, забронировать место на пароме, а потом можно и вопрос с комфортным размещением решить на месте.

Кормят на пароме отвратительно. Несмотря на высокую стоимость перевозки (каюта на троих и перевозка легкового авто в одну сторону – 30 тыс. рублей), вы получите 1 пачку «Доширака», 1 пакет растворимого кофе 3 в 1 и один «Чоко пай» - не коробку (чоко пай - кондитерское изделие, состоящее из двух слоев бисквита, прослойки из пастилы и начинки, покрытой кондитерской глазурью – прим. Ред). Все. И это при том, что идти можно почти сутки. Буфет (или правильнее все же камбуз?) на пароме есть, но стоит он недешево для столовой и – самое главное – принимают там только наличные: оплатить переводом или картой не получится по причине отсутствия мобильной связи. Мы этого не знали, но продержались на собственных запасах. Кстати, если вы захотите пронести на борт алкоголь, то придется постараться: проверяют. Правда, в Ванино это делают двое сотрудников транспортной полиции (разливное, спрятанное мной в объемный спальник, они не нашли), а вот в Холмске такое уже не пройдет – там вещи, проносимые на борт парома, «просвечивают» стационарным сканером.

Если вам досталась каюта на нижней палубе, то розеток вам не видать, поэтому берите книгу. В каюте на верхней палубе есть все удобства: и иллюминатор, и розетки, и стол с диваном, и не душно.

Если боитесь, что укачает, то сильно переживать не стоит – «Сахалин» весьма большой паром и не сильно реагирует на волну. Хотя, если в Татарском проливе заштормит, то почувствуют все.


Фото: Сахалинское морское пароходство

Идти в среднем 18 часов, связь будет за час от и до берега.

Есть еще одна особенность при погрузке на паром: когда вы уже оформитесь, то вас запустят на территорию порта, откуда выйти или выехать вы не сможете. Ждать придется от двух до пяти-шести часов, сидя в машине. При этом в Ванино есть комната отдыха и отвратительная столовая (опять же, только за наличные), а в Холмске по крайней мере мы ничего такого не увидели (правда, была глубокая ночь). При этом в Холмске за въезд на территорию порта с вас еще возьмут почти две тысяч рублей (можно оплатить картой).


Про Ванино

Приезжать к парому рекомендуется часов за восемь, но это вовсе не означает, что вы загрузитесь в назначенное время: раньше – вряд ли, а вот позже – это пожалуйста.

Если вы едете на Сахалин на авто, то из Лидоги (это поселок, возле которого вы сворачиваете с «комсомольской» трассы на Ванино и впереди вас ждет 350 км трассы без связи) необходимо позвонить диспетчеру и предупредить, что вы едете.

Мы поехали за пару дней до намеченного отхода парома, чтобы немного поколесить по берегу Татарского пролива от Советской Гавани до Датты – посмотреть тут есть что. Квартиру сознательно сняли (1800 рублей в сутки) в Советской Гавани (это 30 км от Ванино), потому что он все же больше похож на город с более развитой инфраструктурой. За несколько часов до подхода парома переехали в Ванино, но в итоге из-за задержки парома пришлось снимать квартиру на сутки в поселке.

 

Про еду

Особо перед поездкой на остров провизией не затаривались: стандартный сухой паек из «Доширака», «Завтрака туриста», сгущенки, быстро завариваемых каш и спирт. В городах, где ночевали, докупались в супермаркетах, да на рынках, что вдоль дорог, покупали ягоду и овощи.

Ценник на Сахалине в сравнении с Хабаровском, примерно +30 %, а в сравнении с Москвой, наверное, все 50.


Рынок Взморье
Фото: Илья Буяновский aka varandej

Что удивило: на Сахалине не продают свежевыловленную рыбу, да и вообще никакую не продают. Исключение – рынок во Взморье, где можно купить свежих крабов, да пивные магазины, где торгуют вяленой, копченой и сушеной рыбкой по заоблачным ценам.

На вопрос - «Почему так?» местные невозмутимо отвечают: «А кто покупать будет? Проще пойти и поймать». Я, кстати, свои удочки так и не доставал, ленно.

 

Про дрова

Этим летом мы активно стали пользоваться так называемыми «финскими свечами»: это такие пеньки с пропилами внутри, высушенные и упакованные в пленку – горят несколько часов, за это время можно спокойно приготовить ужин и вскипятить чайник. Да и просто горят красиво.

Фото: Алексей Елаш
  
Брали с собой 3 штуки, закинув на верхний багажник. Очень выручают, когда дождь и дрова мокрые или когда вовсе этих дров нет.

Конечно же, брали с собой газовую плитку – незаменимая вещь. На транссахалинской трассе есть оборудованные площадки для остановки, где можно в беседке на плитке вскипятить воду даже в ненастную погоду – мы так делали, когда пару раз совершали ночной переезд: горячий кофе с утра очень помогает! На наших автодорогах – «Уссури», «Восток» или комсомольской (не говоря уже про николаевскую) таких площадок практически нет.

 

Про жилье

Жилищный вопрос решили таким образом: в городах снимаем посуточно квартиру, на побережье/природе живем в палатке/машине. Соотношение получилось примерно 2 к 1 в пользу квартир. 


Фото: Алексей Елаш
Но это и хорошо – не так устаешь от бытовых неудобств (не все готовы недели напролет жить в палатке, прислушиваясь к звукам леса, и купаться горных реках), а в квартире можно и помыться, и постирать, и вещи посушить. Главное, когда снимаете квартиру, заранее узнавайте наличие горячей воды, стиральной машинки и wi-fi. А то у нас было такое в Улан-Удэ, где мы, уже поселившись в квартире, с удивлением узнали, что горячей воды нет во всем городе, а квартира при этом не оборудована бойлером. Наше возмущение хозяйка парировала: «У нас каждое лето так».

Также учтите, что квартиры посуточно на Сахалине расхватывают, как горячие пирожки, особенно, если дело к выходным. По цене примерно так: в «Южном» (Южно-Сахалинске) – от 1800 до 2300 рублей за сутки, а вот чем дальше на север – тем дороже, цена доходит до 3500 рублей.


Не реклама, а совет: на въезде в Смирных с юга справа неплохой гостиничный комплекс с приличным завтраком и адекватным ценником. Но больше всего, пожалуй, нам запомнилась квартира в Томари. Бабушка, которая сдавала квартиру, видимо, так устала бороться с нерадивыми квартиросъемщиками, что везде наклеила небольшие инструкции: «Не режьте ножом на столе (есть доска)!», «Придерживайте, когда отключаете!» (это про розетку) и так далее.

 

Про машину

Каких-то особенных сложностей мы не испытали: перед поездкой проверил все основные узлы и агрегаты, с собой взял стандартный набор инструментов и немного жидкостей (тормозная, антифриз, масло). Бензин на Сахалине есть практически везде (максимальная цена за АИ-95 – в Ильинском: 63 рубля за литр), поэтому запасную канистру, как при поездке в Монголию, брать не стал.

Дороги тоже везде приемлемые, колеса нигде не рвали.


Фото: Алексей Елаш

Единственная сложность, с которой столкнулись – порванный пыльник привода после поездки по горной дороге на мыс Птичий. «Граната» стала издавать характерный звук и перед поездкой на север острова решили неисправность эту устранить. НО! Это было воскресенье и шел ливень, а посему большая часть СТО в Южно-Сахалинске попросту не работали. Через пару часов поисков нашли работающий автосервис. Правда, там все время было расписано, но узнав, что мы колесим по острову, парни пропустили нас без очереди и все сделали, за что им большое спасибо.

 

Про одежду

Все, что связано с севером Дальнего Востока или морским побережьем, подходит под следующую схему: берем одежду на лето и осень, то есть от шорт и футболок, до шапок, ветровок и теплых брюк. И надо понимать, что можно попасть в морось, которая будет «висеть» в воздухе несколько дней. Но самый главный совет – берите «кроксы»: резиновые тапочки с задником. В них очень удобно ходить по морскому дну, да и просто по лагерю.

В кармашке багажника у нас были кремы для загара и средства от комаров, но мы их практически не доставали.

Про «ехать – не ехать»

Всем, кто мучается раздумьями - стоит ли остров посещения, советуем отбросить сомнения. Уникальная природа впечатлит и взрослых, и детей, возможность покормить лису, посмотреть из машины на медведя, увидеть китов в заливе Пильтун - это впечатления на всю жизнь. Ну а тем, у кого все разговоры о море, даже и раздумывать не стоит, высоченные волны открытого океана и тихие отливы на "банках" с устрицами и гребешками, бесконечные бирюзовый морские просторы покорили наши сердца навсегда.


Лагуна Буссе
Фото: пресс-служба правительства Сахалинской области

7 декабря: актуальная информация по коронавирусу на Дальнем Востоке
Дайджест региональных событий и свежая статистика