Irkutsk
Ulan-Ude

Blagoveshchensk
Chita
Yakutsk

Birobidzhan
Vladivostok
Khabarovsk

Magadan
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Anadyr
Petropavlovsk-
Kamchatsky
Moscow

This text is translated into Russian by google automatic human level neural machine.
EastRussia is not responsible for any mistakes in the translated text. Sorry for the inconvinience.
Please refer to the text in Russian as a source.

Minsk-London-Stockholm-Moscow-Vladivostok

Leaving his native Minsk for foggy London in 2001 after graduating from university, civil engineer Vasily Grebennikov did not expect that Vladivostok fogs would become his native fogs.

Now a resident of the Free Port of Vladivostok, a mariculture farmer Vasily Grebennikov, makes Vityaz Bay not only a scallop breeding center, but a magnet for gastro and ecotourism.

Minsk-London-Stockholm-Moscow-Vladivostok
Photo: personal archive of Vasily Grebennikov

Writing out geographic zigzags is a family thing for the Grebennikovs. The family of Vasily's grandmother, fleeing the First World War, moved from Belarus to Siberia. His father went from there to study in St. Petersburg. Then the military service brought him first to the Primorsky Territory, then to Germany and, finally, to the homeland of his ancestors - Belarus, where in 1979 the hero of our story was born. A first-generation Minsk resident, Vasily graduated from the Belarusian National Technical University here in 2001 and left with a diploma of a civil engineer ... to England. 


However, London was able to keep the inquisitive young man for a short time - he soon breathed the air of Sweden, simultaneously acquiring a master's degree in Real Estate Finance at the Royal Institute of Technology, so that in 2004 he could plunge into the center of gravity of events - Moscow. “Because everything was fine in Stockholm, everything was clear in London and I didn't want to go there,” explains Vasily, “I came to Moscow to see what was happening there and… lived there for 12 years.”

Investment consulting, commercial real estate development in the team of the largest international insurance and financial corporation, an oil and gas project in eastern Siberia, then an offer came from the Far East Development Fund. “At first, from time to time, I was involved in consulting - to assess risks, develop an action plan. Then the load increased, we formalized relations, and at first I worked in Moscow since 2015, but for myself I decided to develop the Far East not from Moscow, but to work directly on the territory, - says Vasily, - so in 2016 we moved to Vladivostok. At the end of 2018, I completed this mission, and in 2019 I took up a scallop mariculture farm and landed in the village of Vityaz, Primorsky Territory. " 


Together with Vasily, his family is a wife and two daughters. The eldest is a Muscovite, the youngest is already a native of Primorye.


Why mariculture? “In Primorye, there are ideal conditions for it and the largest sales markets are China, South Korea, and Japan nearby,” says Vasily, “although it is very difficult to raise this business. Yes, I am a resident of the Free Port of Vladivostok and this makes a lot easier, but insurance companies do not understand this business, therefore they do not insure risks, and when insurance companies do not insure risks, banks do not lend to such a business. We have to develop only on our own funds. " In addition, there is no scientific support and educational base. The budding mariferous grower believed that the Pacific Research Fisheries Center could come and there they would draw up a project according to which the hired contractors would build everything, and then it would be necessary to connect a company that would be engaged in the operation of the infrastructure, read - scallop breeding.



“I thought I was going to organize everything and would do finance, sales, strategy and stuff like that. What I did in the real estate market in Moscow: you find a land plot, you hire designers, contractors, you attract financing - and that's it! The project is being implemented! But here in Primorye - no. You have to do everything yourself, do it with your hands. " And then typhoon Maysak in September 2020 literally scattered everything and everyone, and out of the expected harvest of about 90 tons of scallop for this year, only 10 are left. But there is nowhere to retreat, Moscow is far away. And although it was not possible to produce the desired volume of commercial scallop, Vasily's farm became the largest producer of seedlings - scallop juveniles, which were sold to other farms that are engaged in mariculture.


“I think I could, of course, raise a farm and organize business in other parts of the world, with a more developed infrastructure, qualified personnel, scientific support, a developed financial infrastructure, but ... it's good where we are! It so happened that I was looking for a place where you can live by the sea with stable winds. Kitesurfing is one part of my life, and Vladivostok is the best city to go kiteboarding - it has the best wind statistics in the world. I don’t have one factor "Why the Far East", and it doesn’t happen that one factor decides everything. They all came together, because since childhood I had not dreamed that I would make a scallop farm in the village of Vityaz, Khasansky District, but fate brought me here. Or maybe the surname is Grebennikov. There is both a comb for you and a crest of a wave. And the Far East is such a place - take it and do it! "


October 25: current information on coronavirus in the Far East
Digest of regional events and latest statistics

Иркутск
Улан-Удэ

Благовещенск
Чита
Якутск

Биробиджан
Владивосток
Хабаровск

Магадан
Южно-Сахалинск

Анадырь
Петропавловск-
Камчатский
Москва

Минск-Лондон-Стокгольм-Москва- Владивосток

Уезжая в 2001-м году из родного Минска в туманный Лондон после окончания университета, инженер-строитель Василий Гребенников не предполагал, что родными туманами ему станут владивостокские.

Теперь резидент Свободного порта Владивосток марикультурный фермер Василий Гребенников делает бухту Витязь не только центром по разведению гребешка, но магнитом для гастро- и экотуризма.

Минск-Лондон-Стокгольм-Москва- Владивосток
Фото: личный архив Василия Гребенникова

Выписывать географические зигзаги – это у Гребенниковых семейное. Семья бабушки Василия, спасаясь от первой мировой войны, переехала из Белоруссии в Сибирь. Его отец поехал оттуда учиться Санкт-Петербург. Затем военная служба занесла его сначала в Приморский край, потом в Германию и, наконец, на родину предков – Белоруссию, где в 1979 году на свет и появился герой нашего рассказа. Минчанин в первом поколении, Василий закончил тут в 2001-м Белорусский национальный технический университет и с дипломом инженера-строителя уехал … в Англию. 


Впрочем, Лондон ненадолго смог удержать пытливого юношу – уже скоро он дышал воздухом Швеции, попутно обретая в Королевском технологическом институте степень магистра по специальности «Финансы недвижимости», чтобы в 2004-м погрузиться в центр гравитации событий – Москву. «Потому что в Стокгольме все было хорошо, в Лондоне все понятно и туда не хотелось, - поясняет Василий, - приехал в Москву посмотреть, что там происходит и… прожил там 12 лет».

Инвестиционный консалтинг, девелопмент коммерческой недвижимости в команде крупнейшей международной страховой и финансовой корпорации, нефтегазовый проект в восточной Сибири, потом пришло предложение от Фонда развития Дальнего Востока. «Сначала меня время от времени привлекали на консалтинг – оценить риски, разработать план действий. Потом нагрузка выросла, мы оформили отношения, и сначала я работал в Москве с 2015 года, но для себя решил развивать Дальний Восток не из Москвы, а работать непосредственно на территории, – рассказывает Василий, – так, в 2016 году мы переехали во Владивосток. В конце 2018 года я завершил эту свою миссию, и в 2019-м занялся марикультурной фермой по разведению гребешка и приземлился в поселке Витязь Приморского края». 


Вместе с Василием его семья – супруга и две дочери. Старшая – москвичка, младшая – уже уроженка Приморья.


Почему марикультура? «В Приморье для нее идеальные условия и рядом крупнейшие рынки сбыта Китай, Южная Корея, Япония, – говорит Василий, – хотя поднимать этот бизнес очень непросто. Да, я резидент Свободного порта Владивосток и это многое облегчает, но страховые компании этот бизнес не понимают, соответственно они риски не страхуют, а когда страховые компании риски не страхуют, банки такой бизнес и не кредитуют. Приходится развиваться только на собственные средства». К тому же нет научной поддержки и образовательной базы. Начинающий марифермер полагал, что сможет прийти Тихоокеанский научно-исследовательский рыбохозяйственный центр и там ему составят проект, по которому нанятые подрядчики все построят, а затем надо будет подключить фирму, которая бы занялась эксплуатацией инфраструктуры, читай – разведением гребешка.



«Я думал, что все организую и буду заниматься финансами, продажами выстраиванием стратегии и подобными вещами. Тем, чем я занимался на рынке недвижимости в Москве: находишь участок, нанимаешь проектировщиков, подрядчиков, привлекаешь финансирование – и все! Проект реализуется! Но тут в Приморье – нет. Все приходится делать самому, делать руками». А тут тайфун Майсак в сентябре 2020 года буквально разметал все и вся, и из ожидаемого урожая порядка 90 тонн гребешка на этот год, осталось всего 10. Но отступать некуда, Москва далеко. И хотя не удалось выдать желаемый объем товарного гребешка, ферма Василия стала крупнейшим производителем рассады – гребешковой молоди, которую реализовали другим хозяйствам, которые занимаются марикультурой.


«Я думаю, что смог бы, конечно, поднять ферму и организовать бизнес и в других уголках земного шара, с более развитой инфраструктурой, квалифицированным персоналом, научной поддержкой, развитой финансовой инфраструктурой, но… хорошо там, где мы есть! Так уж сложилось, что я искал место, где можно жить у моря со стабильными ветрами. Кайтсерфинг – одна их частей моей жизни, а Владивосток это лучший город для того, чтобы кататься на кайте - здесь лучшая ветровая статистика в мире. Одного какого-то фактора «Почему Дальний Восток» у меня нет, да и не бывает так, чтобы один фактор все решил. Все они вместе сложились , ведь не мечтал я с детства о том, что я сделаю гребешковую ферму в поселке Витязь Хасанского района, но судьба меня вот сюда привела. А может фамилия – Гребенников. Тут и гребешок тебе, и гребень волны. А Дальний Восток это такое место – бери и делай!».


29 октября: актуальная информация по коронавирусу на Дальнем Востоке
Дайджест региональных событий и свежая статистика